Florida Traffic Laws – What Is Reckless Driving?

  • Sumo

caution.bmp
Florida Statute Section 316.192 defines reckless driving as anyone who drives a vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. In addition, any person that flees a law enforcement officer in a motor vehicle has committed reckless driving “per se”.
The consequences of a reckless driving conviction vary on the level of offense.
• First Offense: the minimum fine for reckless driving is $25 and the maximum is $500. Any person convicted of reckless driving shall not be sentenced for a period exceeding 90 days in jail.
•Second or Subsequent Offense: the minimum fine for a second offense of reckless driving is $50 and the maximum is $1,000.
There are even harsher penalties if the driver damaged property or a person. This then is considered a misdemeanor of the first degree. Causing serious bodily injury to another while recklessly driving is considered a felony of the third degree.
In addition, if the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical substance or controlled substance contributed to the reckless driving then the court may order the person to complete a DUI program substance abuse education course and evaluation. For more information on this topic, see Florida Statute 316.192.

This entry was posted in Traffic Citations. Bookmark the permalink.