Florida Car Accidents, Injuries and PIP Insurance

  • Sumo

By Lenorae Atter, Florida Attorney
1152597_paid_invoice.jpg
In Florida, car insurance is required for all Florida drivers. Part of Florida’s car insurance requirement is that you must have personal injury protection (PIP) coverage of $10,000.00. This form of insurance is considered “no fault” insurance. In Florida, PIP provides payment of doctor bills regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
Florida Statute 627.736 is the statute that controls the PIP coverage Florida drivers are required by Florida law to have. If you do not have this automobile insurance coverage in Florida, then you are in violation of the statute, you can receive a traffic citation / ticket, and your Florida driver’s license can be suspended.
Florida no fault insurance PIP insurance coverage is a benefit to you as a driver. If you are in a Florida automobile accident and you are at fault, then you still are entitled $10,000.00 in medical coverage. Also, if you are injured and the accident is the fault of the other, but they are not insured, then you still have coverage for your medical bills. Another plus is that you do not have to wait for fault to be determined before seeking medical treatment.
Though you are covered up to $10,000, you may have a deductible of $1,000 or more. If you do, then you have to actually reach $1,250.00 in medical bills before your PIP coverage will begin paying the bills. The reason for this difference is that PIP only pays 80% of the bill and you are responsible for 20% and when you have a deductible you have to reach the amount that PIP covers. If your deductible is $1,000 then 80% of $1,250 is $1,000.
If you are injured in an accident and seek treatment but your bills are not paid, then you need to contact your insurance company or seek the advice of a Florida personal injury attorney to assist you.

This entry was posted in Automobile Accidents, Automobile Insurance, Medical Care & Health Issues. Bookmark the permalink.